Beast of the Night – E. E. Rawls | Blog Tour

Beast of the Night is the Beauty and the Beast retelling by E. E. Rawls that I had the honour of appearing on her book blog tour for. If you enjoy fairytale retellings with a bit of a twist, then I think you’ll quite enjoy this!

Beast of the Night
E. E. Rawls

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

Goodreads | Amazon

A one-armed girl. A lord hiding a curse. A dark secret with the town’s fate hanging in the balance.

A Beauty and the Beast retelling with an Austrian twist and a new type of curse.

When Rosen moves to Freudendorf—a secluded town in the Alps—she does odd jobs to earn a living. That is, until her dad suddenly vanishes and the debt collectors come to call: taking her into slave labor.

But just when all her hopes and dreams are shattered, a frail zombie-like butler purchases her: taking her to serve Lord Varick, who currently resides in the forbidden castle near the salt mines, where the Beast of the Night is said to roam…

Varick is handsome, with an attitude that’s the exact opposite. The servants aren’t human, and the castle itself is an ugly wreck. But if Rosen cannot solve the dark secret beneath Freudendorf, and the curse holding Varick’s cold heart, then both they and the town will fall prey to a waiting evil—and worse, have no memory of it.

Continue reading “Beast of the Night – E. E. Rawls | Blog Tour”

Stray Kids’ GO Live Comeback & God’s Menu MV | Sunny Snippets

Sunny Snippets is a new series (if you could even call it that) where I blog about interesting days out. Thanks to Corona, we all know how that’s turned out.

So about two weeks ago when I found out that Stray Kids were having a comeback, it’s been something I’ve looked forward too ever since.

Continue reading “Stray Kids’ GO Live Comeback & God’s Menu MV | Sunny Snippets”

The Upside of Falling – Alex Light | Review

Originally published on Wattpad under a different name, The Upside of Falling by Alex Light is her debut novel published by HarperTeen.

If you need another ‘To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before’ fix, then this cute, lighthearted contemporary by Alex Light is what you need.

The Upside of Falling
Alex Light

Rating: 4 out of 5.

It’s been years since seventeen-year-old Becca Hart believed in true love. But when her former best friend teases her for not having a boyfriend, Becca impulsively pretends she’s been secretly seeing someone.

Brett Wells has it all. Being captain of the football team and one of the most popular guys in school, he should have no problem finding someone to date, but he’s always been more focused on his future than who to bring to prom. When he overhears Becca’s lie, Brett decides to step in and be her mystery guy. It’s the perfect solution: he gets people off his back for not dating and she can keep up the ruse.

Acting like the perfect couple isn’t easy though, especially when you barely know the other person. But with Becca still picking up the pieces from when her world was blown apart years ago and Brett just barely holding his together now, they begin to realize they have more in common than they ever could have imagined. When the line between real and pretend begins to blur, they are forced to answer the question: is this fake romance the realest thing in either of their lives?

Continue reading “The Upside of Falling – Alex Light | Review”

100 Days of Sunlight – Abbie Emmons | Review

Abbie Emmons’ debut ‘100 Days of Sunlight’ is a masterpiece that I wish I had read so much sooner. Especially now due to the current global dilemma (i hate you corona), that spark of hope and joy is not as familiar as it should. This inspirational, diverse read will be sure to get you smiling again.

100 Days of Sunlight
Abbie Emmons

Rating: 5 out of 5.

When 16-year-old poetry blogger Tessa Dickinson is involved in a car accident and loses her eyesight for 100 days, she feels like her whole world has been turned upside-down.

Terrified that her vision might never return, Tessa feels like she has nothing left to be happy about. But when her grandparents place an ad in the local newspaper looking for a typist to help Tessa continue writing and blogging, an unlikely answer knocks at their door: Weston Ludovico, a boy her age with bright eyes, an optimistic smile…and no legs.

Knowing how angry and afraid Tessa is feeling, Weston thinks he can help her. But he has one condition — no one can tell Tessa about his disability. And because she can’t see him, she treats him with contempt: screaming at him to get out of her house and never come back. But for Weston, it’s the most amazing feeling: to be treated like a normal person, not just a sob story. So he comes back. Again and again and again.

Tessa spurns Weston’s “obnoxious optimism”, convinced that he has no idea what she’s going through. But Weston knows exactly how she feels and reaches into her darkness to show her that there is more than one way to experience the world. As Tessa grows closer to Weston, she finds it harder and harder to imagine life without him — and Weston can’t imagine life without her. But he still hasn’t told her the truth, and when Tessa’s sight returns he’ll have to make the hardest decision of his life: vanish from Tessa’s world…or overcome his fear of being seen.

100 Days of Sunlight is a poignant and heartfelt novel by author Abbie Emmons. If you like sweet contemporary romance and strong family themes then you’ll love this touching story of hope, healing, and getting back up when life knocks you down.

Continue reading “100 Days of Sunlight – Abbie Emmons | Review”

Aurora Rising – Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff | Review

Aurora Rising is the opening novel in the space ship, science fiction adventure series The Aurora Cycle. This multi-perspective fantastical science fiction trilogy focuses on a found family that we didn’t know we needed.

Aurora Risisng
Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Rating: 5 out of 5.

From the New York Times and internationally bestselling authors of the Illuminae Filescomes a new science fiction epic . . .

The year is 2380, and the graduating cadets of Aurora Academy are being assigned their first missions. Star pupil Tyler Jones is ready to recruit the squad of his dreams, but his own boneheaded heroism sees him stuck with the dregs nobody else in the academy would touch.

A cocky diplomat with a black belt in sarcasm.
A sociopath scientist with a fondness for shooting her bunkmates.
A smart-ass tech whiz with the galaxy’s biggest chip on his shoulder.
An alien warrior with anger-management issues.
A tomboy pilot who’s totally not into him, in case you were wondering.

And Ty’s squad isn’t even his biggest problem–that’d be Aurora Jie-Lin O’Malley, the girl he’s just rescued from interdimensional space. Trapped in cryo-sleep for two centuries, Auri is a girl out of time and out of her depth. But she could be the catalyst that starts a war millions of years in the making, and Tyler’s squad of losers, discipline cases, and misfits might just be the last hope for the entire galaxy.

NOBODY PANIC.

Continue reading “Aurora Rising – Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff | Review”

Ever After – Olivia Vieweg | Review [ARC]

Ever After by Olivia Vieweg is a dystopian, standalone graphic novel set in a world after an apocalypse has ran its course through the world. It is perfect for fans of The Walking Dead who also love amazing art and graphic novels.

I wanted to spice up my reading taste so when I saw this graphic novel on Netgalley, I knew I had to give this piece of German literature a go.

Ever After
Olivia Vieweg

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Vivi and Eva are two travelers in a countryside filled with the undead. After a train breaks down, stranding them between safe zones, the young women partner up to stay alive. Vivi is struggling with grief–and guilt–over the loss of her sister. Eva is hiding the start of a horrifying transformation. Together they’ll face heat, zombie hordes, and their own inner demons, searching for signs of life in a land of the dead. This graphic novel addition to an enduring genre is thoughtful and emotion-driven, but also full of zombie scares and action.

Continue reading “Ever After – Olivia Vieweg | Review [ARC]”

Moonscript – H. S. J. Williams | Blog Tour

Moonscript is the first book of Williams’ that I have read, and after reading this, it certainly won’t be the last!

It’s magical, heart wrenching, descriptive and elves — it is everything I didn’t realise I needed.

Moonscript
H. S. J. Williams

Rating: 4 out of 5.

“It is said that Darkness is empty and whatever vanishes into its depths is lost forever. I know this better than anyone. For I have suffered here in the shadows, and there are none who might find me.”

Seventy years. Seventy years the elven prince has been lost to the darkness, assumed dead by his people and endlessly broken for a book that connects to the hidden realm of his ancestors, a land untouched by evil.

And now a light in the shadows. A chance for freedom. But those willing to help him come from the unlikeliest of worlds.

The orphan girl, yearning for a loving family, and the boy who won’t leave her side. A healer maiden given an unexpected chance for a life beyond narrowed expectations. A grieving creature flown far from home.

They all search for something and now their fates are tied to his. If their quest for life can pull him from the dark mire in which his soul drowns, then perhaps he can be saved.

Or else he will drag them all down to a fate worse than death.

The beginning of an epic saga, MOONSCRIPT is a journey of innocence, despair, and redemption.

Continue reading “Moonscript – H. S. J. Williams | Blog Tour”